Medical Advisory Committee


Dr. Nathalie Arbour

Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Université de Montréal

Area of expertise: molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in neuroinflammatory processes

Dr. Jiwon Oh

Associate Professor, Staff Neurologist and Medical Director, BARLO Multiple Sclerosis (MS) program at St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto

Area of expertise: advanced MRI techniques in the spinal cord and brain for use in clinical settings


Dr. Mark Allegretta
Vice-President, Research, National MS Society (USA) 
Liaison Representative  

Dr. Sultan Darvesh
Professor in Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine, Department of Medical Neuroscience at Dalhousie University
Area of expertise: behavioural neurologist, organic chemist, development of therapeutics and diagnostic agents for Alzheimer's disease

Marilyn Emery
Chief Executive Officer, Women’s College Hospital
MS Canada Board of Directors, Liaison

Dr. Marcia Finlayson
Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director of School of Rehabilitation Therapy, MS Occupational Therapist, Queen’s University
Area of expertise: rehabilitation therapy, fatigue management, caregiving in MS, Falls in MS

Dr. Douglas Landsman
Vice-President, Research, National MS Society (USA)
Liaison Representative

Dr. Catherine Larochelle
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Université de Montréal, Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
Area of expertise: neurologist, neuroimmunology and neuroinflammation in MS

Dr. Michael C. Levin
Professor of Neurology and Anatomy, Physiology and Pharmacology, University of Saskatchewan
Area of expertise: neurology, pathogenesis of MS, neurodegeneration

Beverley MacAdam
Senior Director, RBC
Community Member

Dr. Ruth Ann Marrie
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine in Neurology, Associate Professor of Community Health Sciences, Epidemiologist, and MS Neurologist, University of Manitoba
Area of expertise: population patterns of MS, comorbidity, genetic and environmental risk factors

Dr. Paul Matthews
Head of the Division of Brain Sciences, Department of Medicine, Imperial College, London
Area of expertise: imaging methods, neuropathology, neuroinflammation, neurodegeneration

Dr. Shalina S. Ousman
Associate Professor, Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary
Area of expertise: protective mechanisms in MS and peripheral nerve regeneration

Dr. Scott Patten
Professor, Departments of Community Health Sciences and Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary
Area of expertise: epidemiology of psychiatric disorders

Dr. Michelle Ploughman
Associate Professor, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Memorial University
Area of expertise: rehabilitation, neuroplasticity

Dr. Jacqueline Quandt
Assistant Professor at University of British Columbia, Principal Investigator & Associate Director of the UBC MS Research Group
Area of expertise: neuroinflammation relevant to multiple sclerosis and other nervous system disorders

Susan Senecal
President and Chief Executive Officer, A&W Food Services of Canada
MS Canada Board of Directors, Chair

Dr. Penny Smyth
Associate Professor, Neurology; Associate Dean Professionalism, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta; Vice President, Canadian Network of MS Clinics
Area of expertise: neurology, knowledge translation, medical education

Mr. Cory Turner
President, Spicers Canada